Hit A Parked Car? Legally, Here’s What To Do In Montana
Are You Legally Required To Call The Police If You Hit A Parked Car In Montana?
If you hit a parked car, whether it's in a parking lot or on the street, are you required to call the police?
The answer is yes.
The Advocates note that the driver who hit the parked car must stop as soon as is reasonably possible, and try to locate the owner of the vehicle or the thing that you hit. If you can not find the owner, you're required by law to leave a note with your name, address, contact information and details of what happened to their property.
What Is A Hit And Run?
In Montana, it's a hit and run if you fail to find the owner or leave a note for the owner, and you can get into some serious trouble.
What Are The Penalties For Hit And Run?
If it's a parked car or stationary object, according to Enjuris, could "result in a fine of $200–$300 and/or imprisonment of 20 days or less. Subsequent convictions can increase the fine to $500 and the jail time to 6 months."
A hit and run involving injuring a human can bring some brutal penalties. Again, from Enjuris, an accident with no injuries is the same as hitting a stationary object. An accident resulting in an injury can bring a fine of $100-$5,000 and time in jail up to 6 months, If the accident results in serious bodily injury or death, you can be fined up to $50,000 and be put in prison for up to 10 years, along with losing your license.
Basically, It All Comes Down To Being A Decent Human
Everyone makes mistakes and has accidents. If you handle the situation with decency, you may have to cover the damage, but you probably won't incur a hit and run fine or jail time.
Collectable Cars VS. Semi Accident
Gallery Credit: Dan Patrick
Accident on Tracks: Train Crashes into Trailer in Grand Junction
Gallery Credit: Alicia Selin
10 leading causes of accidents