Almost everywhere in Montana, any adult over the age of 21 can go to a marijuana dispensary and purchase pot for recreational use.  Before you hit one of our dispensaries, it might be nice to know the rules in Montana for adult use recreational Mary Jane.  Here's a brief overview of Montana law:

The River 97.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

How Much Marijuana Can You Buy At Once?

From Flowhub:

  • Consumers can buy and possess up to one ounce of flower or the equivalent: 8 Grams of marijuana concentrate, 800 milligrams of THC enhanced products or edibles, 8 grams or 8 ml marijuana concentrate.
  • Medical card holders can buy 5 ounces a month, daily buys are limited to one ounce
  • Recreational users can cultivate 2 mature plants and 2 seedlings in a private, locked area that's hidden out of view.
  • Medical card holders can cultivate up to 4 mature plants and 4 seedlings with the same privacy rules as above.

Can you get your marijuana and marijuana enhanced products delivered?

Yes, and no

If you hold a Montana medical marijuana card, your dispensary can legally deliver products to your home. Provided they offer that service.

Montana still hasn't approved adult use at home delivery as of yet.


What Are The Differences In Taxes For Card Holders And Non-Cardholders

  • Recreational-use marijuana is taxed at 20 percent of retail sales
  • Medical card holders pay a tax of 4 percent of retail sales
  • Localities may add an additional tax of no more than 3 percent

Can I Get A DUI In Montana For Driving Under The Influence Of THC?

Yes.  It's never a good idea to drive impaired.  No matter how "slow and careful" you think you're driving.

Your best bet is to hit the dispensary, hit the snack shop and then imbibe.  You won't really want to leave the house anyway.

Smoke it if ya got it!

Look For These Cleverly Named Dispensaries In Montana

Best Montana Cannabis Shop Names

More From The River 97.9